U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government



Move to low-fat or fat-free dairy milk or yogurt (or lactose-free dairy or fortified soy versions).

What foods are included in the Dairy Group?

The Dairy Group includes milk, yogurt, cheese, lactose-free milk and fortified soy milk and yogurt. 
The Dairy Group does not include foods made from milk that have little calcium and a high fat content. Examples of this are cream cheese, sour cream, cream, and butter.

How much food from the Dairy Group is needed daily?

Your dairy needs depends on your age, sex, height, weight, and physical activity level. The amount can also depend on whether you are pregnant or breastfeeding.

About 90% of Americans do not get enough dairy. Most people would benefit from getting more fat-free or low-fat dairy. This can come from milk, yogurt, or cheese. It can also come from lactose-free milk and fortified soy milk or yogurt.

Find the right amount of dairy for you by getting your MyPlate Plan. For general guidance based on age, see the table below.

What counts as a cup in the Dairy Group?

In general, the following counts as 1 cup from the Dairy Group:

  • 1 cup of milk, yogurt, or soy milk
  • 1 ½ ounces of natural cheese

The table below lists specific amounts that count as 1 cup from the Dairy Group.

More About the Dairy Group

The table below lists specific amounts that count as 1 cup in the Dairy Group towards the daily recommended amount.

Note: Click on the top row to expand the table. If you are on a mobile device, you may need to turn it sideways to see the full table.

 *These are general recommendations by age. Find the right amount for you by getting your MyPlate Plan.

Daily Recommendation*
Toddlers 12 to 23 months 1⅔ to 2 cups
Children 2-3 yrs 2 to 2½ cups
4-8 yrs 2½ cups
Girls 9-13 yrs 3 cups
14-18 yrs 3 cups
Boys 9-13 yrs 3 cups
14-18 yrs 3 cups
Women 19-30 yrs 3 cups
31-59 yrs 3 cups
60+ yrs 3 cups
Men 19-30 yrs 3 cups
31-59 yrs 3 cups
60+ yrs 3 cups

  Amount That Counts as 1 Cup in the Dairy Group

1 cup milk

1 half-pint container milk

½ cup evaporated milk

1 cup calcium-fortified soy milk

1 half-pint container calcium-fortified soy milk

Yogurt 1 cup yogurt (dairy or fortified soy)

1 ½ ounces hard cheese (cheddar, mozzarella, Swiss, Parmesan)

⅓ cup shredded cheese

1 ounce processed cheese (American)

½ cup ricotta cheese

2 cups cottage cheese

2 ounces queso fresco

2 slices queso blanco

Why is it important to eat or drink dairy?

Eating or drinking dairy products offers health benefits, like building and maintaining strong bones. Dairy Group foods provide nutrients that are vital for the health and maintenance of the body. These nutrients include calcium, potassium, vitamin D, and protein.


The Dairy Group provides many nutrients including:

  • Calcium
  • Phosphorous
  • Vitamins A, D, and B12
  • Riboflavin
  • Protein
  • Potassium
  • Zinc
  • Choline
  • Magnesium
  • Selenium


Calcium is used for building bones and teeth. It also helps you maintain bone strength as you grow older. Dairy products are the main source of calcium in many American diets. 


Many people do not get enough potassium. Diets rich in potassium may help to maintain healthy blood pressure. Dairy products, especially dairy milk and yogurt, and fortified soy milk, provide potassium.


Vitamin D helps the body maintain proper levels of calcium and phosphorous, which helps to build and maintain bones. Milk and soy milk that are fortified with vitamin D are good sources of this nutrient. Other sources include some fish such as salmon and foods fortified with vitamin D.


Low-fat or fat-free forms of milk products are low in saturated fat.

smoothie in a glass with a straw and a father pouring milk for kids breakfast bowls

Health Benefits

All food and beverage choices matter. Focus on variety, amount, and nutrition.

Calcium and vitamin D are important nutrients at any age. Eating or drinking dairy products that have these nutrients help to:

  • Improve bone health, especially in children and adolescents when bone mass is being built.
  • Promote bone health and prevent the start of osteoporosis in adults.

For those who choose not to eat or drink dairy products

father and son in food store isle

Fortified soy milk and yogurt with added calcium, vitamin A, and vitamin D are a part of the Dairy Group. This is because their nutrition content is like dairy milk and yogurt.

Other products sold as “milks” but made from plants like almond, rice, coconut, oat, and hemp “milks” may have calcium. But, they are not a part of the Dairy Group because their nutrition content is not like dairy milk and fortified soy milk.

There are calcium choices for those who do not eat or drink dairy products. However, these are not part of the Dairy Group.

The amount of calcium your body can absorb (or take in) from these foods may vary.

  • Calcium-fortified juices
  • Calcium-fortified plant-based milk alternatives, such as rice milk or almond milk
  • Canned fish, such as sardines and salmon with bones
  • Tofu made with calcium sulfate
  • Tahini, such as sesame butter or paste
  • Some leafy greens, such as collard and turnip greens, spinach, kale, and bok choy

For more information, see the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025: Food Sources of Calcium.

Shop Simple home screen on a phone

Shop Simple with MyPlate

Find savings in your area and discover new ways to prepare budget-friendly foods.

Learn more

Alexa Speakers and Devices

MyPlate on Alexa

Get MyPlate nutrition tips on Amazon Alexa devices or the free Alexa app.

Learn more

Start Simple app on phone and watch

Start Simple with MyPlate App

Build healthy eating habits one goal at a time! Download the Start Simple with MyPlate app today.

Learn more

logo for the Dietary Guidelines for Americans

MyPlate.gov is based on the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025